Bloomberg and Billionaires Forever

December 30, 2014

Britain Bloomberg Knighthood Good news for all those New Yorker’s who felt 12 years of Bloombergian rule was just the beginning of political paradise, not to mention as for all those Americans who felt cheated out of a Bloomberg presidency. All six of those people (all on payroll) can rejoice in the fact The Bloomster continues to carry on behind the scenes doing what he does best: purchasing influence, hither, thither and yon, and bulldozing the way to permanent oligarchy like few others! $27.7 million dollars worth of bulldozing, in fact. Thank you very much Citizens United! And mind you, the lovable little tycoon has a net worth of 35.5 billion so such giving can go on and on and on till the end of time. Literally. And, yes, while some of Bloomberg’s money is going for gun control, lots and lots and lots is going for “education reform,” oligarchic patois for union busting, wholesale privatization of the public school system, a major step in the unmaking of the social contract itself ! So cheer up, fellow citizens. Due to the limitless generosity of men like Mike — and there are some 435 other billionaires helping to set the country straight! — and the wisdom of the Supreme Court we move closer and closer to the vision of founding father John Jay who wrote, “”Those who own the country ought to govern it.” Happy New Year! Addendum: See Thomas Piketty’s Capital in the Twenty First Century for a more nuanced take on the wonders of oligarchy or Paul Krugman’s take on Piketty’s book.

4 Responses to “Bloomberg and Billionaires Forever”

  1. Stephen Contos Says:

    Pat I am not sure how to really feel about this, I stood by you and the UFT against what you told me Bloomberg was attempting to do to the NYC Public schools and all it got me was the UFT letting me get thrown under the bus and the DOE refusing to give me any recommendations and when I did interview for any teaching jobs they told the schools not to hire me. So I say if they are going to control the system play ball or they will drum you out with out a peep from the once mighty UFT. There are literally thousands who got the exact same treatment and no one stood up for us, we were left to find a way…on our own, the UFT offered no assistance once we were not paying union dues any more, just another example of why unions are disappearing, they refuse to stand for their members and to fight for the rights of every member. Perhaps the old saying really is true…”you have to go along to get along”

    • patrickwalsh Says:

      Hi Steve,
      I’m confused by what you’re saying here. I know all too well how appallingly you were treated by both DOE and UFT and I did the best I could to remedy your situation and was simply ignored. I will never defend how you were treated and I continue to do my best to force my union to do the right thing for all.

      • Stephen Contos Says:

        Perhaps the point is to not fight city hall…literally. We were all tossed out like trash, when the new contract was signed the UFT caved and we got NO retroactive money and I ended up selling cars because I had a huge hole in my resume and no LOR’s for that time, thus the DOE and UFT drummed me out of teaching…no other way for me to look at it. I will never rock the boat again. Out of work with no prospects at 50…try it, we got screwed and the City and UFT care not at all. They betrayed us.

        • patrickwalsh Says:

          Bloomberg’s goal was to destroy the UFT and the public school system — and he had the power of his own absurd wealth, the richest people on earth, the state government, and the federal to help him do so. He half succeeded in destroying both. We had the additional horror story of a psycho principal who, I’m convinced, believed she was to be rewarded by DOE by the number of teaching careers she destroyed. As you know, she came very close to destroying mine as well. But there is a larger picture here and that is the all out exportation of work to nations where there is near slave labor. Read Bob Herbert’s Losing Our Way. The sick thing is your situation is increasingly the norm. We need a a radical change in everything, Steve, or our lives will hardly be worth living. Again, was was done to you was appalling.


Leave a Reply

