Scenes From A Silent Snowed-In City

January 27, 2015

Even as the storm was nowhere near as apocalyptic as TV talking heads predicted, Juno did (and continues to) drop a whole lot of snow on the city, effectively shutting New York down. The school system, the MTA and even, despite their slogan, the US Post office are closed.

This morning when peered out my window at the silent street below I was compelled to take a Leopold Bloom–like stroll ( sans the cuckold business ) through my still sleeping neighborhood to see what I could see. This I did. Here is what I saw. Enjoy.

Ludlow St, looking south

Ludlow St, looking south

Stanton St, looking east

Stanton St, looking east

Clearing snow off the roof of Katz's Deli

Clearing snow off the roof of Katz’s Deli

East Houston St at 7.00 / A.M

East Houston St at 7.00 / A.M

Clinics closed.

Clinics closed.

A gated Tompkin's . Square Park

A gated Tompkin’s Square Park

Tompkin's Square Tompkin’s Square

A lonely  sojourn on 1st Ave.

A lonely sojourn on 1st Ave.

/>

St. Marks of   the  Bowery

St. Marks of the Bowery

Stuyvesant Place

Stuyvesant Place

A very rare occurrence

A very rare occurrence

The noble Cooper Union in the snow.

The noble Cooper Union in the snow.

On the Bowery

On the Bowery

Workers

Workers

The Catholic Worker is open to all who hunger.

The Catholic Worker is open to all who hunger.

Home, warm socks, sleeping family, and coffee.

Home, warm socks, sleeping family, and coffee.

4 Responses to “Scenes From A Silent Snowed-In City”

  1. rastamick Says:

    I’ll eschew the stock Buffalonian snorting and scoffing at the amount of snow you’ve piled up. My older kids in the car en route to pick out our Christmas tree this year put forth the notion that the snow suspends time somehow and what could be a picture taken today seems as if it could just as easily be from 30 years ago. I had never thought of it that way but I agree and I think it’s just part of why a good snowfall brings its own magic to an otherwise grey uneventful time of year. Love the Bloom reference too, poor Poldy. Keep the pics coming. Stay warm.

    • patrickwalsh Says:

      Your older kids are very perceptive, I think, and though I have never arrived at that thought it rings very true to me. Why does it not surprise me that you are a Joycean ? I had the great privilege of studying the man and Ulysses under Richard Sullivan. It remains to my mind the darkest, funniest,and funkiest novel ever written. I return to it as often as I can. We must always remember, as hard as it sometimes is, to keep at least one eye on both beauty and the divine .Thank you for your words, brother Sean.

  2. Daniel Longo Says:

    The photos and sentiment are, as usual, kind, but to be true Patrick, I’ve seen more powder atop a piece of gingerbread. Hoping for history regarding a blizzard, has left me disappointed, but the anticipatory hot chocolate was spectacular. Stay well.


Leave a Reply

